Nine Reviewer Openings for Warpaint.

WARPAINT is done, edited, almost ready

Of my original 25 folks who signed up to review Hunting The Corrigan’s Blood, sixteen moved to semi-permanent reviewer status.

Nine dropped out for various reasons (or no given reason).

Which leaves 9 openings for NEW reviewers for WARPAINT, the second Cadence Drake novel.

So here’s the deal

If you’re one of the first nine folks who posts to the page requesting a review copy and explaining why you’d like to do a review, I’ll send you one. It isn’t fancy. It’s a nicely formatted PDF set up to still be readable on e-readers, but it has no cover art or any other frills.

If you volunteer in time, you get to read the story under no obligation to review it.

HOWEVER, obviously I’m sending out copies because I need reviews, which do help sales.

Folks who do a review and send me the link to their review (Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Apple, in that order, are my preferred
review venues, but reviews posted to blogs and sites that accept reviews of books also count), in most cases will be invited to get the NEXT book in the series to read and review, as well as other fiction projects I complete.

I say “in most cases,” because I reserve the right to drop folks from the list if they decide to roast the book rather than review it, if they indulge in personal attacks against me, or for unstated reasons that
might come up.

If you ALSO bug-hunt the manuscript for spellos and typos (no editing for style, please), you get a thank you in the Acknowledgements.

Folks who don’t do a review won’t receive the next book, because I’m trying to build up a list of 25 reliable folks who will receive my books and review them.

IMPORTANT: This is strictly volunteer. No money changes hands, and I cannot offer to read your work in exchange for you reading mine, so the only reason to do this is because you’d like to read the book before everyone else (and you might like getting your name in the ACKS).

If you’re interested, let me know (and letting me know WHY would help, too.)

If you have any questions about reviewing, ask them when you post,
and I’ll be happy to explain further.

image_pdfDownload as PDFimage_printPrint Page

About the author: Novelist, writing teacher, on a mission to reprint my out-of-print books and self-publish my new ones.

57 comments… add one
  • RMSolberg Dec 9, 2012 @ 0:34

    Ergh. Typos. Please excuse me. I just got home from a Christmas party and saw this, so had to post! My inner editor is still singing carols and savoring hot spiced cider…

  • RMSolberg Dec 9, 2012 @ 0:30

    It looks likely you have the 9 somewhere above me…but just in case, especially since the first book is not only among my “Top 3 books to read when stuck on desert island,” but also one of my favorite stories/characters *ever*. So I’m posting anyway. 😀

    Regardless Happy Holidays to ataff, you and yours!

  • Sylvia Nickels Dec 8, 2012 @ 19:35

    Holly, I’m quite sure you’ve chosen your nine reviewers, but will throw my name in the pot anyway. I loved HTCB and can’t wait to find out what Cady’s doing now. I didn’t open your email Thursday, too busy to even get online, barely on Friday and late today. Idiotic AOL freezes up sometimes when I go to your site so I have to remember to use Firefox. Congrats on finishing Warpaint, especially with all the things that got in your way.
    Sylvia

  • Tim King Dec 8, 2012 @ 16:29

    Ha! That’ll teach me to put off catching up on my email!

    Seriously, though, I plan to read and review WARPAINT regardless of anything else. My daughter and I both loved HTCB, and can hardly wait for the sequel!

    -TimK

  • Chris Olson Dec 7, 2012 @ 14:07

    Hi! I would love to review Warpaint. I would love to just read it. I’m sure you’ve already filled up your nine reviewers, but yesterday when I attempted to find the list, it wouldn’t go through…

    Anyway, I’m a writer. I love to write. In lots of genre’s. Mostly YA fiction, as my brain seems to have a hard time writing for adults …

    … must be the kid in me.

    Anyway, I’ve read a number of your books already (liked all of them except the one with the deal between heaven and hell, that one was just didn’t speak to me).

    So, if you haven’t made you decision, think of me. I’ll also do a spell check for you, but I think you’ve got a good handle on that!

    Chris Olson

  • Marguerite Dec 7, 2012 @ 12:22

    I can’t wait to read Warpaint – I loved HTCB! Obviously I’m way to late to be a reviewer, but I’d appreciate being on your reviewer list for the next book. I’m trying to hunt down all your books and read them – so far besides HTCB, Hawkspar has been my favorite!

  • Alexis B williams Dec 7, 2012 @ 10:02

    I just got the first book. I like what I have read so far and would love to review the next one. I have been a reader for 60 decades and currently have 5000 plus ebooks. I love to read and know I can give a review that will encourage others to read your new book. Thanks!

  • Tuff Gartin Dec 7, 2012 @ 7:56

    I’d love to be a reviewer for you Holly! I’m a middle-aged wannabe author who has already learned a significant amount from you via your articles, books, email updates, etc. Having the opportunity to review a book at this late stage of the process, and post-edit, would be a wonderful opportunity for me to learn what a “mostly finished” work should look like.

    If you still have any slots available, I’d be honored! If not, I’ll be purchasing the book for my Nook anyway and will be glad to review it for you on Barnes and Noble website. I know I’m well behind the posts of several. But my schedule wouldn’t allow me to get to my PC to read your email until now.

    Thanks for your consideration and keep up the great work! And thanks for being so diligent in helping others that want to write!

    Tuff

  • Nissa Annakindt Dec 7, 2012 @ 6:32

    What a great idea for getting reviewers! I blogged about it over at my own blog, Lina Lamont’s Write Club, and I’m hoping to use that idea on my own one day.

    I see you already have more than enough reviewers, which is great because it will stop me from volunteering. I have a hard time writing reviews, and I owe my friend Karina Fabian reviews on two of her books— not that she gave me free copies, it’s just that they were that good.

    Anyway, Holly, thanks for being such a good mentor and role model to other writers.

  • Benjamin Dec 7, 2012 @ 5:47

    I will review War Paint for you on both Amazon and on my blog. Here is my review blog so you can see what my other reviews are like: http://writerbenjamin.blogspot.com.

    I loved Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood and I really want to read War Paint anyway. I want to review more books that I really like to gain more traffic to my review site and encourage others to read the stories that I find enjoyable.

    I either post positive reviews or I will simply not review the book, so I can’t promise a review until I’ve read it. My review blog is where I post about books I like and recommend the book to others. If I review it on my blog, I will also review it on Amazon and other venues that except reviews.

    I will make time to read this book and I can read a book cover to cover pretty quickly.

  • Brian Cansler Dec 6, 2012 @ 22:21

    Hi, Holly,

    Add me to the list! I’d be happy to read and review, and my TRUE calling in life is hunting down typos. I’ve been a follower of your work for quite some time, and I’d love to help out. Plus, Winter Break is coming up at UNC-Chapel Hill, and I have to find something to do in the meantime!

    Brian

  • Shawna Dec 6, 2012 @ 20:47

    I’m sure I’m way too late, seeing how many posts you already have – but just in case some (ok, a lot) of those don’t work out – I’m chiming in anyway.

    I’d love to review it. I turn in reviews on time; I’ve done over 100 for The Old Schoolhouse magazine’s Schoolhouse Review Crew. (http://schoolhousereviewcrew.com/ — mostly homeschool materials, with some fiction and household stuff thrown in just to keep things interesting)

  • Julian Adorney Dec 6, 2012 @ 17:36

    I’ll be reviewing WARPAINT either way, since I love your stuff and like recommending it to everyone. That said, a free copy would be nice 🙂

  • Toni Murphy Dec 6, 2012 @ 16:57

    Couldn’t believe it, when I just received the email and came straight to this site to post, that so many people had already beat me to it.
    I would love to review your book. I have just recently read some of your earlier work (Fire in the Mist and Diplomacy of Wolves) and loved them. I am sure that this newest book will just as great if not better. Can’t wait to read it, either this way or after it comes out!

  • TR Larson Dec 6, 2012 @ 16:19

    I would be honored to review Warpaint. It would be reviewing to the genre that I wish to publish to and your HTTS material is what gave me my starting workflow and base for becoming a novelist. I have never read any of your fiction and would love to start with a Warpaint review. Thanks for the opportunity.

    Troy

  • Erin Z. Dec 6, 2012 @ 16:13

    I don’t know if you have any spots left, but I’d love to review Warpaint. Cady’s world fascinates me. And I love your books. I’d love to have a shot at reading Warpaint and helping you with a review.

  • Barbara Ferguson Dec 6, 2012 @ 16:03

    Holly – I’d love to review Warpaint for you. I read Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood and reviewed it on Amazon.

    I’m a big fan, but I’m afraid if I say much more I’ll sound creepy!!

    Thanks!!

  • Rowan Dec 6, 2012 @ 15:55

    I’d love to be a reviewer. I still have my first edition “Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood” on my shelf. I know I’m not in the top nine, but I’ll happily leave a review on the noted sitess, as well as my own blog.

  • Tonette Dec 6, 2012 @ 15:12

    Hello, Holly.

    I’m late to the party and although the ‘.com’ issue has already come up, I thought I’d throw it out there. I bought one of everything in your fiction section last month. Yes, I haven’t read the first book yet. I’m still in post-NaNo recovery before diving in. I’m currently finishing up a beta-read for another author. It’s funny that they asked for feedback other than than the basics, because it’s chock full of typos, spellos, and other grammatical quandaries. The WIP has other elements that are jarring for a reader, so I’m taking notes as I read through and my notes are turning into a book of their own! It’s a shame, too, because it’s more of a challenge to get through an otherwise engaging story. Of course, I intend to relay this message in a constructive way, but I’d also like to suggest that they enroll your classes to help polish their diamond in the rough.

    Best regards,

    Tonette

  • Amy Dec 6, 2012 @ 15:10

    If you have any openings left I’d love to help out. I loved the first book (both times I’ve read it), I’m experienced at writing comprehensive book reviews (although I haven’t done it in a while – epinions.com/pearannoyed) and I do often notice typos and other minor problems in books and would love to help you hunt them down to make your book as polished as possible.

  • Erin Dec 6, 2012 @ 14:43

    I’d love to review Warpaint, both as an aspiring English major and a longtime fan. Doing something I enjoy for an author whose work I enjoy is an opportunity to be jumped at. Looks like I’ve missed the nine-reviewers cutoff, but I’d still like to register the idea as a fantastic one.

  • Chris Dec 6, 2012 @ 14:39

    I’m probably too late (I was at work when this email came in), but I’d love to review Warpaint. I’ve reviewed several of your books on Amazon, and I enjoy the process of trying to capture the feel of a book, and the wonder that it brings me as a reader, in a net of words that helps another reader find that same joy, share that same experience of bleshing.

  • No1nptkulr Dec 6, 2012 @ 14:32

    Holly it would be an honor to review your book.

  • Tia Nia Dec 6, 2012 @ 14:01

    At this point I’m pretty far below the 9-person cut-off, but if you have a waiting list, please put me on it.
    Why: I love reading your work; I enjoy reading for spelling/grammar errors (which I don’t recall ever seeing in your work, so kudos to whomever is responsible!); and I will be happy to review your work in your preferred sites as well as Goodreads. (Shucks, I guess that means I’ll have to become a member of GR.)

  • Yog-Sothoth Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:58

    I’d like to review, I reviewed HTCB on Amazon, but I think I’m too late 🙁

  • Tom Vetter Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:51

    Holly,
    I’d be honored to review it. I hunted down a copy of HTCB online recently, and though not usually a science fiction fan, I enjoyed it greatly. I have been awaiting Warpaint to learn what happens next. As an HTTS student midway through my second book, learning from you has been a great gift, and I’d like to repay you you as best I can.

  • Rebecca Anne Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:35

    I would like to be considered please Holly.

  • Roseanne Salyer Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:32

    I am in the middle of the first book. I love the it. Your tutorials have taught me so much. I would enjoy reviewing Warpaint.

  • Deborah Romani Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:19

    Holly,

    I would be delighted to read and review Warpaint. I’ve been enjoying your courses and your boards, and would love to see the finished product of all your labors. I read in a wide variety of genres, with only a smattering of science fiction, so perhaps I could speak to why people who don’t always read in this genre might still want to pick up a copy of Warpaint.

    Regardless, many congratulations to you on finishing. Smile. You did it. Again!

  • Krazee12 Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:18

    Hi,

    I would like to review this 2nd book in the series. I did do an Amazon review of your first book. I like the series and would like it to be the best it can be.

  • Eileen Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:17

    Hi Holly,

    I’ve read the Fire in the Mist series and loved it.
    I’m a student of yours – HTRYN, HTWAS, HTTS and love your work. I admire you greatly and while I don’t have a blog, I’m happy to post a review to Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Apple, Goodreads etc. Or other sites you’d like.

    I have a pssion for typos and editing!

    Thanks for offering your loyal customers and readers this opportunity.

  • Laura McClellan Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:14

    I’d love a review copy of Warpaint. I loved, loved, loved the first novel in the series and have been anxiously awaiting the release of the next, following your reports of how you got to the point of being able to release it! Please consider me for one of the reviewer slots.

    Thanks.

  • Lorraine Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:14

    If there is still an opening I’d love to be a reviewer. I love your work, the kinds of stories you tell, and have been reading the snippets you release and following your progress on the book with a lot of interest. Thanks!

  • Lara Hafen Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:04

    I’d like to do a review because I love your writing and enjoy reading new stories. Pretty plain and simple reasons I guess 🙂

  • Deb Gallardo Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:02

    Holly, I would love to be a reviewer for your series (assuming you’d want to keep me on). I started reading SF/F in the 1970’s. Your Corrigan’s Blood was the first SF novel I’d read since Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series came to a close. (Not many people realize it actually is SF because of the dragons, but they were bio-engineered. You may already know this.)

    I’m currently reading the Asimov Second Foundation series. Those three guys aren’t Isaac, but they’re definitely hard-core SF. I’ve been struggling with their concepts.

    Fortunately your Cadence Drake series is not nearly so esoteric as theirs. I “get” Cadence and I “get” the science, etc. Thank you! Your clarity is a constant.

    So if you’re willing to give me a shot at this, I’d love a review copy of Warpaint. I need a respite from psycho-history. (Some of book one, IMHO, qualified as psycho.)

  • Kate Dougherty Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:56

    I would love to be a reviewer. I love reading and I love telling people how much I loved a book I have read, and why. The best part of reading is being able to share how a book reached you with other people!

    I also really love finding typos and spelling errors too, that might make me a bit weird but hey, it pleases me!

  • Rhea Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:54

    I would love to review Warpaint! I’ve been looking forward to it ever since I read Corrigan’s Blood. Corrigan’s Blood was refreshing with it’s unique story world and iconoclastic take on vampires. I was very disappointed the next book wasn’t available for purchase the moment I finished CB.

  • Ann Beardsley Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:48

    I’d love to. I love your work, I’m a professional copyeditor (nonfiction, but I have a good eye), and I’d be glad to help out. Typing fast cuz I think there are 8 comments ahead of mine.

  • Craig Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:47

    Sure. Send it on over.

    • Craig Dec 6, 2012 @ 13:07

      Sorry, missed the why. I was just excited that there weren’t 9 yet.

      I’ve been following you as both a writer and a teacher for a long time. I would love to get a sneak peek at what’s new. Getting an insight to a pre-published novel and the processes involved is an awesome opportunity, too.

      Besides, I like Cady a lot.

  • Jen of Hens Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:47

    I’d love to!

    • Jen of Hens Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:52

      OK – got a little overexcited and forgot the “why” part. Silly me.

      I have lots of time and if (when) I love it I would be happy to write a review on Amazon.

      Caveat – I am visually impaired so I need to know if you are on a deadline because I do have to reboot the old eyeballs from time to time. Usually it doesn’t interfere at all but I wanted to be up front with you on that. And besides, I’m a prett quick reader.

      And….another 1993 words for me today. Got and installed (and played with) Dragon Naturally Speaking (voice recognition sw) – pretty cool stuff.

      Peace out!

  • Amy Iannucci Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:45

    Hi Holly, in your email to the Cadence Drake list about this, you did not include “.com” in the URL. You may want to resend with the full address.

    Also, I would love to be a reviewer! I’m a big fan and just finished re-reading Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood, so I’m up on Cady’s storyline. 🙂 I am a technical writer/editor so I can fine typos and spelling errors, if you have any.

    Thank you!

    -Amy

    • Amy Iannucci Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:47

      Guess I can’t find (not fine) my own typos though – yikes!

  • Lisa PT Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:40

    I’d love to review it. I just finished Corrigan’s Blood yesterday, so it is very fresh in my mind.

  • Gabby Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:37

    I’d love to read the book as well. I’ve been anxiously awaiting the next book to come out.

    I couldn’t put down Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood.

    Thank you for your consideration

    I’m also pretty good at spotting typos and spelling errors too.

  • Peg Fisher Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:36

    And yes, I spellcheck by spinal reflex. Even when I make a typo in my own previous post, from trying to type fast enough to be one of the 9. *wry grin*

  • Fiona Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:35

    (Oh oops and I probably should point out that the link to this page was wrong on the email you sent out… it’s missing the .com at the end of the URL).

  • Maureen Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:35

    Hi! I’d love to review WARPAINT – mainly, I just really, really want to read it, since I love you work. I’d also love to help you out be reviewing, though. Could I have a copy? *puppy eyes*

    • Maureen Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:35

      *your* work. Typos are my mortal enemy.

  • Fiona Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:34

    Hi Holly, I’d love to have the opportunity to review Warpaint! I thoroughly enjoyed Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood (and the other books of yours I’ve read), and as I’m an avid reader (and writer) I’m always more than happy to help out a great writer with a fair review.

  • Greg Miranda Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:34

    Hi Holly,

    I would love to review Warpaint. I’m a big Cadence Drake fan and really want to see what happens next. I did leave a review for Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood on Amazon (a short one) and will leave one for Warpaint whether I get an early copy or not.

    I’m also a big fan of yours, keep up the great work!

    Regards,
    Greg

  • Peg Fisher Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:34

    I enjoy your tutorials, and I’d like to read Warpaint. in exchange for the advance read, I’m glad to offer a review.

  • Jen Dec 6, 2012 @ 12:33

    I’d love to review your book. I’m an avid reader so I love a good story. Hope I make the cut. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.