ARCs now available for 25 fans/readers who would like to review HTCB

In the long, long discussion of the fallout from the John Locke debacle, I noted that getting reviews on your work is an agonizing process—that I have books that have sold thousands of copies and have obtained only one or two reviews.

The publishing industry has been giving ARCs to reviewers since there’s been a publishing industry. Official reviewers however, almost all refuse self-published books, and almost all refuse ebooks, and since I’m self-publishing now, and the format I can afford to send out is PDF, I can forget about official reviewers.

At which point, one of my readers suggested that if I wanted to get legitimate reviews of my books posted to places like Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble, and Apple, I ought to create ARCs (the publishing acronym for advance reading copies) and give copies to some of my fans and readers, and let them review the books.

My fans who were quick on the trigger would get free copies, they would not be required to write reviews (though if you do, it will help me out, and anything that helps sales makes it easier for me to pay the bills while writing the next one). And there would be no question of buying reviews, creating fake identities to write their own reviews, or any other sleazy practices some folks are engaging in.

So I’m going to try this out for both Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood and Warpaint.

I’ll send out PDF copies of Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood TODAY to the first twenty-five of my readers who state they’d like to act as book reviewers. Book reviewers don’t review every book they receive, and you will not be required to review this one.

If you spot typos, send them to me as soon as you spot them, and I’ll fix them in any version that is not yet in print.

I’ll email all reviewers for this this book, first to send your your ARC, and then to send you the links to the book page on the various sites when it goes live. If you want a little copy of the book cover so you can also post the review on your weblog (if you have one) let me know and I’ll send one along.

SO… if you want to read the book for review, reply to this post. (I’m NOT CHECKING EMAIL, so don’t email a request). make sure you include your email address in the e-mail address box when reply (it won’t show up on the site) and make sure it doesn’t include typos, or your book won’t arrive.

And thank you for taking the time to consider reviewing Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood.

Important Note for Selected Reviewers

I send the first eight copies via direct email. I THEN notices that the PDF is 13.9 MB.

So if you didn’t get your copy, Please just reply to your FIRST reply, and I’ll resend via YouSendIt, which gives you a link from which you can download your PDF. I apologize for any inconvenience.

I’m sending the REST of the copies by YouSendIt. Reviewers—you’ll need to click a link in the email to download your PDF, but that’s it.


I’ve now sent out all 25 personalized ARC copies to my Official Reader/Review Team #1 :D.

HUGE thanks to everyone who offered to do this.

If you didn’t post quickly enough to make the first 25 this time, there are almost certainly going to be openings for reviewers next month when WARPAINT, the second Cadence Drake Novel, comes out. Folks who who read and reviewed HTCB will get automatic first consideration, but I anticipate openings left by readers who didn’t have time to read HTCB, didn’t have time to review it, and so on.

So if you hoped to be added to the review list, watch your email next month when I ask for additional reviewers for WARPAINT.

image_pdfDownload as PDFimage_printPrint Page

About the author: Novelist, writing teacher, on a mission to reprint my out-of-print books and self-publish my new ones.

79 comments… add one
  • Yog-Sothoth Oct 16, 2012 @ 3:24

    Holly, is there a place to buy a copy of Corrigan’s Blood that’s better for you than others? I presume that if I purchase it through your “shop”, then you get more money from the sale. If I buy it through Amazon, it will show up on sales ranks and “Other customers also bought…” lists. Which is better?

    Also, will you be doing a “please buy it on [DATE] so it gets into the bestseller list” type campaign? Apparently a big surge in sales in 24 hours is better for climbing the bestseller list than the same sales over a longer period, or at least that is a strategy I have seen other ePublishers use. I don’t know if it still works though.

    • Holly Oct 16, 2012 @ 4:44

      If you buy through my shop, I make a bit more, but PayPal fees keep the difference down.

      From a “this will help people find me” perspective, buying through Amazon would be best, because that’s the highest-traffic point where people who have never heard of me might have a chance to trip over me.

      And I’ll be offering a discount to my readers for the first month to encourage early buying. I honestly don’t know whether a bunch of sales the first day is more helpful than steady sales all month. So I’m just going to give my folks a “thank you for buying early” deal, and see what happens.

      • Yog-Sothoth Oct 17, 2012 @ 2:59

        A games publisher that I am a huge fan of (Amarillo Design Bureau, Inc.) recently started publishing electronic versions of their rulebooks. The site they’re publishing through (SJ Games’ e23) has a simple rating system. If a customer buys a copy, the customer can place a star rating. Once a particular product has five or more ratings, it shows up when potential customers search by “most popular”. To encourage customers to remember to rate their purchases, the company set up a thread on their forums where people can post “I rated this”. (Kind of like “I voted” stickers, heh.) The customers receive no reward for this. Just the thanks of one of the forum mods. Of the 100+ downloadable products ADB, Inc. has available, more than 80 have at least five ratings – some as many as sixty. I think this takes advantage of the “public accountability” motivation factor. Or maybe it just reminds people to remember to rate things. Anyway, perhaps a thread on one of your forums where those who rate/review one of your publications on Amazon or wherever can post about having done so may help get you more reviews.

  • Eileen Mueller Oct 15, 2012 @ 1:35

    I was away all weekend at a workshop without email and missed the chance.
    I will buy one too, and review it on Goodreads.
    Cheers
    Thanks Holly.

  • Stephen B. Bagley Oct 14, 2012 @ 8:34

    Holly,
    I’m not sure where to send the typos I’ve found. What address should we use?
    Stephen

    • Holly Lisle Oct 15, 2012 @ 5:54

      Emailed address to you.

  • Belinda Oct 14, 2012 @ 5:16

    I would love to be considered to review your books.

  • Rebecca Anne Oct 14, 2012 @ 3:25

    Hi Holly count me in too please I would love to read more of your fiction.

  • Richard Cloud Oct 13, 2012 @ 21:50

    Hi Holly,

    Looks like you have plenty of readers. Good idea. If you need a reviewer or an editor down the road–count me in.

  • Yog-Sothoth Oct 13, 2012 @ 19:42

    D’oh! A day late and a dollar short. Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood will be out on Amazon? Ehhhh, I’ll just buy a copy and post a review there. Perhaps that will get me on the short list for an ARC of Cady #2… but it won’t break the bank either way.

  • Robert A. DeLena, CFP Oct 13, 2012 @ 13:47

    Apparently I am too late for the book. This is great markertiing on your part. Please tell the person who recommended this procedure to you that I would like to hire him/her as a PR person for when I finally sit and write my book.

    Great idea and best of luck with your career.

    Robert A. DeLena, CFP

  • Toni Murphy Oct 13, 2012 @ 13:43

    Hey Holly,
    I would love to read Corregan’s Blood. I love all of your books and look forward to reading this one.

  • KenB Oct 13, 2012 @ 13:13

    That would be awesome to read for you. Give me something different to do while still deployed out here on the big blue pond; this is the most hectic deployment I have ever been on, UGH!
    Looking forward to your response!

    Ken

    • KenB Oct 13, 2012 @ 16:39

      I didn’t include the right email with the first response. This one is correct.

  • Rebecca Z Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:57

    I know I’m too late, but if you need someone to review books in the future, I’m more than willing.

  • Jeffrey Boman Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:08

    If I’m not too late, I’d like to get one of the review copies. I’ve just been reading non-fiction about Scrivener for some time; I want to be more inspired by fiction for NaNoWriMo 2012.

  • Jessica Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:39

    I am pretty sure I am too late but I thought I would post a reply anyway…Holly, I’d love to review your book!

  • Maureen Morley Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:39

    Holly
    I would love to review any of your work I find it interesting and entertaining!
    Your site has helped me focus and want to attain a few goals I thought I would not be able to do so please count on me to give you an honest review
    Thank you

  • Jennifer Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:31

    I’d love to read and review. Sign me up.

  • Kirsten Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:30

    I consider myself a picky reviewer, but I think you’ll be fine. 🙂 I’d love a chance to take it look, either way.
    I hope I’m not too late!

  • renee.middleton@dsh.ca.gov Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:30

    Please count me in if room!

  • Heather Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:24

    Count me in! I’d love to review your work.
    Thank you 🙂

  • Tiffanie Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:23

    You more than likely have enough reviewers for this, but, I’d be interested in helping review, if there is a lonely copy left.

  • Cyneva Dalton-Vazquez Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:14

    I’ve read Hunting the Corrigan’s Blood a year or more ago, but if there’s anything else you’d like reviewed, I’d be more than willing. I love reading ARCs. 😀

  • Stephen B. Bagley Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:05

    Holly,
    I’d love to review it, if I’m not too late to get a copy.
    Stephen

  • Kelly Guerra Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:05

    If its not too late, idlove to review it as well!

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:15

      Hi, Kelly. You get copy #25—the LAST copy, which will be in your mailbox now. Thank you so much.

  • Claudsy/Claudette Young Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:04

    Sorry I’m so late, Holly. If you have need of another reviewer, count me in. I’d love to have a crack at it. I’ve been reading your books for so long that Corrigan’s Blood surprised me. I actually hadn’t gotten my hands on a copy and will have to remedy that one way or another.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:07

      Hey, Claudette. You made it…barely. You have copy #24 in your mailbox right about now. 😀 Thanks so much.

  • Jodie Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:57

    Me too, please.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:01

      Hi, Jodie. You’re in with copy #23. Should be in your email now. Thank you. 😀

  • Kathy Wagoner Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:49

    I would love to review your book, if it’s not too late.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:57

      You made it in time. You have copy #22, the link for which should be waiting in your mailbox now. Thank you very much.

  • George Baker Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:45

    Holly,

    I would love to give it a read and possibly a review.

    Thanks,
    George

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:53

      Hi, George. You get copy #21, and should have it linked in your mailbox now. Thank you so much.

  • A.H Browne Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:42

    I’d love to help. May take a bit to post one as I’m also an author and business as can be. Would love to help out, however. 🙂

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:47

      Nice website. This book might not be your cup of tea; the following quote from your “About Me” page suggests you might like my fantasy more that my decidedly dark SF: “I plan on taking over the world with my sparkly ball of warm bubbly sunshine.”

      But you got here in time, and you get copy #20, and if you make it past the first page, you’ll probably be all right. 😉

      Your copy should be waiting for you now.

      • A.H Browne Oct 13, 2012 @ 13:09

        Thank you. 🙂 That’s merely my public image. My reading tends to be more well-rounded. Sort of like my music tastes.

        I look forward to reading it. I appreciate the opportunity.

  • Lee Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:40

    Hi Holly, Please count me in on reviewing your book. Thanks, Lee

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:38

      Hi, Lee. You’re in. Copy #19 should be in your mailbox now. Thank you 😀

  • Susi Matthews Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:28

    Yes, please. I’m happy to provide reviews on books I have read and do so quite frequently. I’m afraid I’m not current on your books due to post-divorce economics but I intend to catch up as I can. Question: do you also want reviews on your older books? I dearly love the World Gates books.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:34

      Post-divorce economics. Yeah, those were fun. On the bright side, you got here in time to get copy #18, which should be in your mailbox now.

      Thank you.

      And reviews on any of my books are welcome. 😀

      • Susi Matthews Oct 13, 2012 @ 12:22

        Yay! Got it! I’ve just left several reviews on Amazon for World Gates books. Thank you so much.

  • Laraine Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:28

    Count me in, Holly, though you might have to wait a while for your review. I’m a slow reader and I’m already in the middle of a 600-page tome. Then I was supposed to be reading Isaacson’s biography of Steve Jobs, but that can wait. I’d much rather read on my iPad anyway.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:29

      You have copy #17, which should be waiting for you now. Thanks very much.

  • Michelle Mulford Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:21

    I would love to review this book. I really enjoyed “Talyn,” and have been sad that your other books were out of print, especially since you seem so fond of this one!

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:26

      Hi, Michelle, you have copy #16 in your mailbox now. Thank you so much.

  • BJ Steeves Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:14

    I am in. I have read almost everything you have written.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:23

      BJ, you get copy #15. Thanks so much. Should be waiting for you now. 😀

  • Wanda Dent Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:14

    I wild love to review Corrigan’s Blood .

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:17

      You get copy #14, Wanda. Should be in your email now. And Thank you.

  • Doug Glassford Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:12

    I would very much like to be one of your reviewers.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:13

      Hi, Doug. You got copy #13. Should be linked in your email box now. Thank you. 😀

  • Connie Zabel Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:04

    Holly, I would love to read and review your new book.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:10

      #12 copy. Has finished it’s trip through YouSendIt and you should have the email now. Thank you.

  • Ray Johnson Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:04

    Holly, I’d like the chance to review any of your books you’d be willing to send me. 🙂

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:01

      #11 Hi, Ray! 😀 You copy just finished sending via YouSendIt, and the link should be in your mailbox now. Thank you.

  • Donna Hernandez Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:03

    I would like to review you book. I love your books.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:56

      #10 copy. Thanks, Donna. 😀 Your copy should be linked from a YouSendIt email in your mailbox now.

      • Donna Hernandez Oct 13, 2012 @ 14:08

        Started reading it, good as always

  • Mid Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:03

    I’d like the chance to review and comb over for anything amiss. 🙂

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:52

      #9 copy. It’s coming to you via YouSendIt. The link should be in your mailbox now. Thank you.

  • Patti Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:01

    I’d love to read and review your book – and will be happy to let you know about any typos.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:42

      #8 copy now sending. Thank you, Patti.

  • Brian Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:01

    I’d like to review a copy, please.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:36

      #7 copy, on its way to you now. Thank you so much.

  • Marissa kahn Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:59

    I’d love to review a book for you.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:29

      #6 Thanks, Marissa. Your copy should be waiting for you in email now.

  • Kari Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:57

    Absolutely! I’d love to review your books!

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:22

      #5 copy. Thanks, Kari. Check your email for your copy now. 😀

  • Bettina Pearson Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:55

    I would very much like to review the book!

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:19

      #4 copy. Thanks, Bettina, your copy is on the way.

  • Pj Jough-Haan Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:55

    I would like to read for you!

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:16

      #3 copy. 😀 Thanks, PJ. Your copy is on the way.

  • Francine Seal Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:54

    I’d love to have a chance to review The Corregan’s Blood. I’ve read just about everything you’ve every published but don’t have a reader if that makes a difference. I can read PDF on line.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:13

      #2 copy. Your copy is on it’s way. 😀 Thank you.

  • Kelley Oct 13, 2012 @ 9:53

    I would like to review your book.

    • Holly Oct 13, 2012 @ 10:07

      #1 copy, and winner of the “Fastest Trigger Finger” award. Your copy is on its way. 😀 Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.