And the PW Review

Thanks to Mary Germano, I got a copy of the PW review of Night Echoes yesterday. If you went into the Readers or Writers sections of the site, though, you’ll have noticed that I’m very slowly getting site bits into place At the moment, just the top navigation bar, later the new logo and submenus and possibly a new feature for site users. I’m still debating that.

Anywaaaaay….

Publishers’ Weekly says:

Night Echoes
Holly Lisle. Signet, $6.99 (320p) ISBN 978-0-451-22094-3

Night Echoes, by Holly Lisle“Romantic suspense twines neatly with the paranormal—and without a single vamp or were-creature—in Lisle’s latest, a chilling haunted house mystery that pits a sensible couple against the supernatural. Following the death of her adoptive father, artist Emma Beck leaves Wisconsin and buys a “falling-down, money-pit, creepy-ass” Civil War-era house in Benina, S.C., the hometown of her deceased biological mother…

“…Lisle keeps pages turning with steamy sex scenes, disturbing revelations and a good old-fashioned ghost story, all building to a white-knuckle conclusion; it’s more than enough to please romantic suspense fans and should make a satisfying treat for anyone burned out on bloodsuckers. (Apr.)”

The middle part had more info than I wanted to give on the main story, plus I’m uncomfortable printing the whole review—pretty sure that runs counter to fair use. So I clipped it. It was all good. A first for me from PW.

image_pdfDownload as PDFimage_printPrint Page

About the author: Novelist, writing teacher, on a mission to reprint my out-of-print books and self-publish my new ones.

9 comments… add one
  • Rick Feb 9, 2007 @ 13:14

    I thought I posted a comment yesterday, but it looks like it didn’t go through.

    In any case, congrats on the review, Holly – I look forward to this one. Also, I just got my hands on a copy of Talyn, and when school dies down that is the first thing on my To Read list.

    Also, I love the new layout. It’s cleaner, crisper, and so much easier on my eyes. Good work.

  • eowynjedi Feb 8, 2007 @ 18:35

    Just dropping in to say that I love your site–it’s great for people like me looking to become authors and who need some bald truth about the business.

    I also just read Talyn from the library (for some reason that’s the only book of yours they have there; I’m going to put in a request for more of your stuff) and I really like your characters. I thought some elements of the story were kind of disturbing, but Talyn is brilliant.

  • Jenne Feb 8, 2007 @ 12:18

    Hooray! I can’t wait! “Talyn” is one of the books in a book bag I’m donating to my school student association auction. (Of course, I had to get a second copy, because I’m not going to auction mine!) I haven’t decided the theme… I might make it an all Holly Lisle bag.

  • heather Feb 8, 2007 @ 10:00

    Congratulations, Holly! I loved ‘I See You’, so I can’t wait to read Night Echos, too. 🙂

  • Chassit Feb 8, 2007 @ 0:26

    That is great, Holly! And it makes me really want to read the new book. I’ve become a fan of your paranomral romance as much as I am a fan of your fantasy!

    Oh, the template is awesome!

  • PolarBear Feb 7, 2007 @ 21:47

    Nice review!

    The template looks gorgeous.

  • TinaK Feb 7, 2007 @ 21:47

    *woot* Who just went and pre-ordered 4 of them. I just went and pre-ordered 4 of them.

  • Bettye Feb 7, 2007 @ 15:27

    Good review, Holly.It looks as if you are begining to carve a significant niche in the Romantic Suspense field for yourself.
    I, for one, wish reviewers would just say whether or not they like a story and why.
    Please do NOT try to summarize it for me. The various blurbs already do that. I also wonder at the reviewer who seem to be trying to rewrite the story.
    When I write reviews I try to tell others exactly why I like a book and why I consider it worth buying.
    Here is an example of one of my early reviews. Which, by the way, the author was not happy with. So, Holly, what did I do wrong in this review?
    “Arturo El Rey is a first book that makes me look forward to more books from this author.
    It is a futuristic suspense novel that explores the Arthurian legend in the light of a future that needs legendary leaders for impossible times.
    For those who like to get first editions of authors who are going to have a significant future in their field I recommend getting this book. With a limited printing these are going to be real collectors items in the future.”
    Oh yeah, just TRY to get one of these first editions.

  • Tech Feb 7, 2007 @ 13:23

    How absolutely awesome! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Next post:

Previous post: